Final Project

Standard

The Rising Cost of College

How does the rising cost of college affect a student’s decision to attend a college?

Over the past 30 years, the cost of college has risen exponentially. In 1980, the tuition for a four-year public school was only a little over $2,000 per year, while today a four-year public institution costs an average of $16,000 a year. Tuition for private colleges and universities is over double the cost of a public institution.

However, tuition is only a part of the problem. On top of outrageous tuition costs, students often have to pay for room and board, meal plans, and text books, as well as other expenses including travel and personal items. Over a period of four years, these costs really start to add up.

In recent years these costs have become an important factor in making a college decision. Most students aren’t able to simply pay for college with money they have stored away; they rely on student loans  or must work multiple jobs on top of their studies to offset the cost. These loans, however, are difficult to get and leave a student in debt. This fear of student debt, and unfortunately for many college kids, leaving them to make the tough decision to forgo on the school of their dreams.

“When I was searching for colleges in my senior year of high school I was faced with a decision that would change my life forever” said Ethel McGinn, junior a math education major at Assumption College in Worcester, Mass. “Should I go to Worcester State University in which I would pay virtually pennies and dimes, but not be happy with my educational experience?  Or should I bite the bullet and go to Assumption College in which even after a hefty merit scholarship I would be in a significant amount of debt, but I would be in a nationally ranked Education program?”

Laurel Banach, a junior pre-med major at the University of Massachusetts, shared a similar experience.

“I’ve personally been hit with the issue of college price when making my decision to come to UMass Amherst” said Banach. “I was initially accepted early to Wesleyan University in Connecticut, but due to the lack of financial aid from the school, I was unable to attend. I couldn’t even find the loans to make it through the first year of school alone.”

McGinn, like many college students, works multiple jobs to help offset the cost of her college education, so she could attend the school she wanted.

“At the age of 17 that answer came down to my work ethic,” said McGinn.  “I knew that I wanted to graduate from an accredited college in which I would constantly be challenged with the curriculum.  So I chose Assumption College, but I didn’t choose the debt.  Instead of just taking out loans now, having fun at school, and not worrying about the future debt from interest rates, I took the proactive approach and am working 2 jobs.”

Infographic: College Costs

Video: Student Reactions to the Rising Cost of College

Photo Gallery: Contributing Costs of College

Leave a comment